In this week’s Flock bonus content, Marly Beelman walks Mariann through a decadent recipe for vegan key lime pie from her book, The Everything Vegan Meal Prep Cookbook. They also talk about how Marly “hears” food!
If you make this recipe, post a photo of it on our Facebook page, or tag @ourhenhouse in a photo of it on Instagram.
And if you haven’t already heard, we’ll be recording our 500th episode LIVE at Woodstock Farm Sanctuary’s June Jamboree on Saturday, June 22nd. This is your chance to see the hens live and in person. Our guest will be Gene Baur. Get tickets today!
Here’s the recipe:
Key Lime Pie
Get ready to enjoy this creamy, tart—yet still sweet—vegan Key Lime Pie. You’ll love the easy-to-follow, no-bake instructions!
INGREDIENTS | SERVES 8
11⁄2 cups graham cracker crumbs
2 tablespoons coconut oil, softened
Zest from 7 key limes
1⁄2 cup key lime juice
1⁄2 cup water
1 tablespoon agar-agar flakes
1⁄4 cup granulated sugar
1 (8-ounce) container vegan cream cheese
1 (5.3-ounce) container dairy-free vanilla yogurt
1 (10-ounce) container extra-firm silken tofu
5 fresh spinach leaves
1 cup vegan whipped topping
1⁄4 cup fresh raspberries
- Spray a 9″ pie pan with vegetable cooking spray.
- Combine graham cracker crumbs and coconut oil in a medium bowl. Press into prepared pie pan.
- Combine lime zest, lime juice, water, agar-agar flakes, and sugar in a small saucepan. Bring to a low boil over medium-high heat, then reduce heat to a simmer and cook 5 minutes.
- Let saucepan mixture cool 1 minute before placing in refrigerator to cool about 20 minutes.
- Add vegan cream cheese, yogurt, tofu, and spinach to a food processor. Pulse until smooth and creamy. Fold in cooled lime mixture and whip until smooth.
- Pour filling into prepared pie crust, cover, and refrigerate at least 1 hour up to 5 days. Serve topped with whipped topping and raspberries.
Calories: 600 | Fat: 21.6 g | Protein: 24.2 g | Sodium: 861 mg |Fiber: 7.3 g | Carbohydrates: 74.9 g | Sugar: 7.3 g
Working with Agar-Agar Flakes
You may not have heard of agar-agar flakes before, but that shouldn’t stop you from trying them. These flakes are made from sea vegetables and are used to create a gel. Most gelatins have been made from hooves, meaning they are not vegan. You can buy agar-agar flakes in the Asian section of most health food stores, or online.
Excerpted from The Everything Vegan Meal Prep Cookbook by Marly McMillen Beelman. Copyright © 2019 by Simon & Schuster, Inc. Used with permission of the publisher, Adams Media, a division of Simon & Schuster. All rights reserved.
Leave us your thoughts on this clip, and anything else you’d like to see as bonus content, on the Flock Facebook Page!
On behalf of all of us here at Our Hen House, thanks!